Toronto Truck Driving Championship results

Jun 15, 2002

JD Smith drivers returned the Team Trophy to it's rightful place - the JDS Trophy Case.
5 drivers competed in the 2002 Toronto Regional Truck Driving Championship on Saturday June 15. Collectively they won the Team Trophy, beating 5 other teams for bragging rights. Brian Taylor (straight truck), Stephen James, Jose Vergara (single single), Peter Walton (single tandem), and Doug Polhamus (tandem tandem) (picture) achieved an average score of 302 points, beating Epic Express by 5 points, and besting the other teams from Advantage Personnel, Alex Henry & Son, Reimer Express, and Travelers Transportation.

Individually, there are 2 JDS drivers who will be moving on to the Provincial competition in London. Peter Walton placed second, and Stephen James was third in their respective classes. The other three each placed in the top ten as well.

The Team win this year is the fifth time JDS drivers have won. 1997, '98, '99, and '00 were the other years, with a strong Con-Way Canada Express team breaking the string in 2001.

Congratulations to the drivers!